Welcome our website. In todays topic, we will be talking about University Of Waterloo International Master’s And Doctoral Student Awards. We will give you all the details you need about University Of Waterloo International Master’s And Doctoral Student Awards. Stay with us.

International student funding

Their foreign students at the University of Waterloo have access to many fantastic financing sources. These consist of:

For information regarding payment of scholarships and awards please visit our funding payment information web page.

International Doctoral Student Award (IDSA)

All qualified overseas students enrolled full-time in a PhD program at the University of Waterloo will immediately receive an IDSA. Students must adhere to the program’s requirements for academic progress, not still be on probation for admission, and not currently be receiving any tuition awards (such as PSI or Lazaridis Tuition Awards) or funding from outside grants, sponsorships, or self-funding that exceeds the minimum amount required for a PhD.

The IDSA database descriptions can be consulted by interested students for a complete list of eligibility requirements and standards.

Read This: Pierre Elliot Trudeau Foundation Doctoral Scholarships

International Master’s Award of Excellence (IMAE)

The International Master’s Award of Excellence (IMAE) will be given to qualified international master’s students who would typically enroll in a research-based graduate program at the University of Waterloo beginning on May 1, 2019 (spring 2019 admissions cycle). The award has a maximum value of five terms at $2,500 each. Academic excellence as shown by the applicant’s application for admission to the graduate program and other factors determined by the Faculties will be used to nominate qualified candidates depending on their award allocation.

For a complete list of eligibility requirements, interested students can consult our IMAE database description.

Ontario Graduate Scholarship (OGS)

The province government provides funding for the OGS program to promote excellence in master’s and doctoral graduate studies. It is a merit-based scholarship, and all academic disciplines are eligible for prizes. Only a limited portion of these awards are open to students from other countries. For information on eligibility requirements and the internal application procedure at Waterloo, interested students should visit our OGS website.

Read This: University of Manitoba Graduate Fellowship (UMGF)

Trudeau Foundation Scholarships

Up to fifteen new scholarships are given each year by the Trudeau Scholars Program to deserving doctorate candidates in the social sciences and humanities. With regard to one or more of the Foundation’s four themes—human rights and dignity, responsible citizenship, Canada in the world, and people and their natural environment—the Foundation supports PhD candidates who are engaged in research that addresses a pressing contemporary issue. The Trudeau Scholars are involved in their disciplines, where they will likely rise to prominence on a national and international level.

The selection process for Trudeau Scholars entails nomination by a university, a resume- and transcript-supported application, internal and external review and selection panels, an interview, and the formal Board of Directors approval.

Interested students can refer to our Pierre Elliott Trudeau Scholarship database description for eligibility criteria and Waterloo’s internal application process.

Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship (CGS)

The Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships (CGS) program was developed to draw in top-tier PhD candidates, keep them in Canada, and position the country as a global leader in research and higher education. Vanier Scholars exhibit leadership qualities and a high level of academic excellence in the social and humanities, natural and engineering sciences, and health-related disciplines. The Vanier Scholarship is open to both domestic and foreign students, and it has a value of $50,000 each year for up to three years.

The scholarships are administered by Canada’s three federal granting agencies: the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC).

The Canadian university to which a student is applying for doctoral studies is where they must apply for a Vanier CGS. The Vanier CGS program aggressively encourages applicants to continue their education outside the university that provided their undergraduate and graduate degrees in an effort to support students in widening their research horizons and exploring new challenges. Universities yearly submit a set number of nominations to the appropriate government research granting agency (CIHR, NSERC, SSHRC) based on allocations allotted to each university.

If a student wins the Vanier CGS competition, they are required to accept their award from the college that nominated them. The Vanier CGS is not transferable, hence it cannot be used at another university. Please study the official eligibility requirements and evaluation standards on the Vanier website to ascertain your candidacy as well as how nominations are assessed.

Please visit our Vanier web page for further details.


For additional scholarship resources please visit our Graduate funding and awards database.